OPI Breakfast At Tiffany’s Collection: My Picks Swatch & Review

opiholiday

I know that here in the US we still have Thanksgiving to get through, but I am so excited for the holidays! I have yet to turn on the Christmas music, but as you saw a couple weeks ago I have been grabbing the Christmas nail polish. Maybe it is because I have never seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s, but I was not overly excited about OPI’s offering this year. Or maybe I have just gone through so many holidays of endless reds that I’m a little bored and know what to expect. The color that caught my eye was Rich & Brazilian, and since Ulta was having a 2 for $16 deal (plus I had a coupon, plus I had some points to use, blah blah blah) I also grabbed the not-quite-Tiffany-blue I Believe in Manicures. Are these colors overly unique? Nah, but they’re still pretty and I know you want to see them in action! I have swatches and a sunshine shot for you below.

All of today’s swatches are shown over Zoya Get Even. My top coat of choice is Seche Vite.

believetop

OPI I Believe in Manicures, 2 coats plus top coat

First up we have I Believe in Manicures, an almost Tiffany blue. It does not have enough green in it (to my eyes) to properly match the color that inspired this polish, but I have heard that Tiffany “owns” that color or something. How that works, I have not a clue. I also have no clue what inspired the name of this polish. The song “You Sexy Thing” comes to mind, but the film is too old for that… Anyway, back to the color. It looks more vibrant and alive on the nail than it does in the bottle.

believe1

OPI I Believe in Manicures, 1 coat

This polish has pretty decent coverage on the first coat for a lighter polish. It does look streaky, but there are some opaque patches. The formula was smooth and easy to work with, just not easy to even out on the first coat.

believe2

OPI I Believe in Manicures, 2 coats

I used a gentle thicker coat and got it opaque in two. If you use thinner coats, I could see how you would need three for opacity. I just floated a second coat on which gave it very even coverage. The color also got the more vibrant look with the second coat; it matched the bottle with the first but the second coat brought it to life a little more. Now, I do have a crap ton of blue polishes, but none of my light blues were close enough in the bottle to warrant any comparison shots (besides Jenna Hipp I Surf With Boys, but I doubt many of you have that one so I didn’t bother).

braziliantop

OPI Rich & Brazilian, 2 coats plus top coat

My other pick was this delicious color, a rich burgundy (see what I did there?), wine color with lots of flakies. Yum. Again, I cannot tell you what the name of this polish references. When I think “rich and Brazilian” the first person that comes to my mind is Neymar. Shows you how clueless I am. This color is so much prettier in person than I thought it would be and it’s the one I was excited about!

brazilian1

OPI Rich & Brazilian, 1 coat

The coverage was really good for a polish with a jelly-ish base! There are still definitely some lighter patches and it just is not dark enough to match what you see in the bottle. You get a lot of flakies on the nail and the formula is just amazing. So easy to use, even your dog could do your nails (I do not recommend this, please keep your dog away from nail polish).

brazilian2

OPI Rich & Brazilian, 2 coats

Two coats gives perfect coverage! If it were a jelly by itself that may not be true, but all of those flakies are so dense and darken it up quickly. It really does have one of the best kinds of formulas; stays right where you put it and is neither runny nor thick. Just smooth, easy, sparkly goodness.

braziliansun

OPI Rich & Brazilian, 2 coats plus top coat

This was the best shot of it I could get in the sun. I do not know why I was struggling with that so much. It is so much more beautiful, rich, and deep than my mere photos can convey. You need to see the bottle in person and spin it around under some lights to see all the pretty that is going on in there.

I am quite happy with the two I picked up! The formulas were excellent and they are both unique to my collection. I would love to know what you guys think. Which ones have you picked up? Were you a little underwhelmed by the collection as a whole like I was? Let’s chat in the comments – I especially want to know if there are other colors from the collection that you think are worth having!

xx, Ashley

You can visit OPI online here. I got my bottles at Ulta.

4 thoughts on “OPI Breakfast At Tiffany’s Collection: My Picks Swatch & Review

    • I agree, Rich & Brazilian is the only shade that has flakies in it and mostly the only purplish shade (I think there might be a really dark purple in the Infinite Shine polishes). The only upside of the collection being boring is having more money for other polishes :]

      Like

Leave a Reply

